MTSAtlas
MTS Intelligence · Semiconductor V1

The Supply Chain Behind Advanced AI Chips

A source-attributed map of the public companies, capabilities, disclosed dependencies, manufacturing projects, and financial intensity behind an advanced accelerator.

54 public companies · 8 layers · 111 primary sources
Financial history 2017–2026 · snapshot semiconductors-v1-9ec9a9512e4ae1d5
Executive summary

The accelerator is the visible object. The supply chain is the product.

Advanced AI compute begins in design software, crosses a concentrated equipment and fabrication base, meets high-bandwidth memory inside an advanced package, and is qualified through assembly and test. This publication maps that physical dependency chain without turning disclosed suppliers into invented market shares.

Figure 1 · Interactive system decoder

Follow the accelerator from blueprint to qualified package

The layer selector is the control. Each choice replaces the thesis, system map, five-part process, bottlenecks, worked example, evidence, and market participants. Select a node inside any visual to inspect it.

01 / 08EDA & IP40 clickable components
01 / The executable blueprint

A chip is debugged in software before it becomes geometry.

Architecture becomes register-transfer logic, reusable IP, a gate-level netlist, placed-and-routed geometry, and finally a verified tape-out package. Each handoff constrains power, performance, area, schedule, and manufacturability before a foundry touches a wafer.

Input
Workload requirements · architecture · foundry design rules
Output
Verified layout database · masks-ready tape-out · embedded IP licenses
Economic unitEDA subscription · IP license/royalty · engineering seat · tape-out
Where the layer binds
Verification closureTiming and power closureFoundry-qualified IPEngineering scheduleMask re-spin risk
Clickable system map5 components · choose one
Logical intent / component intelligence

Architecture + RTL

System requirements are partitioned into compute, memory, I/O, control, and security blocks, then expressed as hardware behavior in RTL.

Watch: Watch whether the architecture can meet bandwidth and power targets before implementation complexity hardens.
Synopsys ↗
Economic unitengineer-month · design block
Inputworkload + constraints
OutputRTL + block plan
Attributable worked example

From RTL to a manufacturable layout

Synopsys' official EDA overview connects logic synthesis, digital place-and-route, verification, validation, and silicon correlation. The important economic point is the iteration loop: errors caught in software avoid a mask re-spin and lost fab time.

FlowRTL → gates → layout
Closuretiming · power · function
Release gatesignoff
What is Electronic Design Automation (EDA)? · Synopsys ↗

How to read: layer changes replace the full explanatory workspace; diagram nodes and component cards are synchronized. Company buttons open the same sourced dossiers used elsewhere in the publication. Open the machine-readable explainers ↗

Figure 2 · Financial intensity

Research intensity versus capital intensity

Latest fiscal year where revenue, R&D, and capital expenditures coexist. Bubble area follows company-wide revenue; ratios are derived from reported SEC XBRL facts.

0%15%30%45%60%0%13%25%38%50%CAPITAL EXPENDITURES / REVENUER&D / REVENUETower Semiconductor · FY2025 · R&D 5.5% · capex 28.4% · revenue $1.6BEntegris · FY2025 · R&D 10.3% · capex 9.4% · revenue $3.2BMicrochip Technology · FY2026 · R&D 23.0% · capex 1.9% · revenue $4.7BArm · FY2026 · R&D 56.4% · capex 11.1% · revenue $4.9BAmkor · FY2025 · R&D 2.5% · capex 13.5% · revenue $6.7BSynopsys · FY2025 · R&D 35.1% · capex 2.4% · revenue $7.1BCoherent · FY2026 · R&D 10.2% · capex 15.5% · revenue $7.1BMarvell · FY2026 · R&D 25.3% · capex 4.3% · revenue $8.2BNXP · FY2025 · R&D 19.2% · capex 3.2% · revenue $12.3BKLA · FY2026 · R&D 11.3% · capex 2.8% · revenue $13.6BTexas Instruments · FY2025 · R&D 11.8% · capex 25.7% · revenue $17.7BApplied Materials · FY2025 · R&D 12.6% · capex 8.0% · revenue $28.4BLinde · FY2025 · R&D 0.4% · capex 15.5% · revenue $34.0BAMD · FY2025 · R&D 23.4% · capex 2.8% · revenue $34.6BMicron · FY2025 · R&D 10.2% · capex 42.4% · revenue $37.4BIntel · FY2025 · R&D 26.1% · capex 27.7% · revenue $52.9BBroadcom · FY2025 · R&D 17.2% · capex 1.0% · revenue $63.9B

17 companies meet the strict same-year comparability rule. Click a bubble for the underlying fiscal year and filing source.

Financial facts ↗

Figure 3 · Manufacturing build-out

Nine tracked U.S. projects, with status kept explicit

City-level orientation only. A program can represent several announced facilities; cost is shown only when the cited source reports a comparable program value.

Tracked United States semiconductor manufacturing projectsA state-level map with five clickable city or metro clusters. Numbers show the projects in each cluster, and marker colors show project status.
announced / plannedunder constructionoperational / rampingNumber = projects grouped within 90 km. Click a marker for the underlying records.Map geometry: U.S. Census Bureau 2024 cartographic boundaries ↗
ProjectStatusScope & announced productsReported costPrimary source

Peoria, Arizona
under-constructionadvanced packaging and test campus
advanced packaging · semiconductor test
$7.00BAmkor Technology ↗

Chandler, Arizona
under-constructiontwo leading-edge logic fabs
leading-edge logic · foundry capacity
Not reportedNational Institute of Standards and Technology ↗

Boise, Idaho
under-constructionleading-edge memory fabs and R&D
DRAM · advanced memory
Not reportedMicron Technology ↗

Clay, New York
plannedmemory manufacturing campus
leading-edge DRAM
$100.00BNational Institute of Standards and Technology ↗

West Lafayette, Indiana
plannedadvanced packaging and R&D campus
HBM advanced packaging
$3.87BSK hynix ↗

Sherman, Texas
under-constructionanalog and embedded semiconductor fab campus
analog semiconductors · embedded processors
Not reportedNational Institute of Standards and Technology ↗

Phoenix, Arizona
operationalleading-edge logic fab
N4 logic wafers
Not reportedNational Institute of Standards and Technology ↗

Phoenix, Arizona
under-constructionleading-edge logic fab
N3 logic wafers
Not reportedNational Institute of Standards and Technology ↗

Phoenix, Arizona
announcedthree fabs, two advanced-packaging facilities, and R&D center
advanced logic · advanced packaging
$100.00BTSMC ↗
Figure 4 · Reported capital expenditure

Company-wide capex since 2017

Annual sum across covered issuers with a reported USD Company Facts value. The coverage set changes by year; this is not total industry capex.

$19.8B
2017
$31.0B
2018
$34.1B
2019
$30.3B
2020
$38.9B
2021
$50.0B
2022
$50.3B
2023
$48.8B
2024
$48.5B
2025
$2.5B
2026

Missing is not zero. Each bar sums only the 5–20 covered companies reporting in that year.

Open capex records ↗

What the evidence supports

Four legible conclusions, no hidden denominator

Reported project values and named dependencies are not market-share estimates.

Design is fabless; dependency is physical.

NVIDIA and AMD filings name external foundries, memory suppliers, and packaging processes behind their products.

17 disclosed edges ↗
Packaging has become strategic capacity.

SK hynix and Amkor announcements attach multibillion-dollar U.S. programs to HBM packaging and advanced assembly/test.

SK hynix source ↗
Leading-edge localization is a system build.

TSMC's announced U.S. expansion joins fabs, advanced packaging, and R&D rather than treating fabrication as a standalone asset.

TSMC source ↗
Data access

One snapshot, two interfaces

The page, versioned HTTP API, and read-only MCP tools resolve against the same bundled snapshot. IDs are stable strings; pagination is deterministic; no interface recomputes facts from a second store.

Methodology & limits

Universe

54 current public companies selected for direct relevance across eight physical layers. Multiple membership is retained.

Financials

2017 onward, extracted from SEC Company Facts. Original unit, period, filing date, tag, source, and reported status are preserved.

Trade

V1 publishes a revision-labeled HTS heading codebook but no trade values. Headings 3818, 8486, 8541, and 8542 include products beyond advanced AI chips; an honest chart needs subheading concordance first.

Citation

MTS Intelligence, “The Supply Chain Behind Advanced AI Chips,” 2026-08-26, snapshot semiconductors-v1-9ec9a9512e4ae1d5.

Source register · evidence tier 1

Primary evidence used in V1

Company dossier

Role in the chain

    Latest reported financials

    Disclosed relationships

      Tracked projects

        Primary sources

          Project cluster